Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AUs and now the primary card holder is filing for BK7

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

AUs and now the primary card holder is filing for BK7

I have been AU on my husband's credit cards since 2003. He is filing BK7 and has about 60k in cc debt.  I have my own cc that I opened in 08/2007, the second was in 10/2007 and the third was in 08/2008. 

In 10/2008 I changed my first name and already reported to the cc lenders and had have cc with a new name. I didn't report to the credit bureaus until 10 days ago. My question ; What is the impact?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
cobaltnv
Established Contributor

Re: AUs and now the primary card holder is filing for BK7

Welcome to the forums. From a legal point of view (and I am not a lawyer) AU's are not legally responsible for the debt of the primary; however, as a spouse you are potentially responsible. I would suggest getting removed from your husbands cc ASAP, as it will tank your credit when he files for Ch7.

Good luck 

TU 810: EQ 813: EX 814 (9/16/09--Loan officer pull)

Helpful Threads
Frequently Requested Threads
Understanding your Fico Score
Message 2 of 10
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

natt wrote:

I have been AU on my husband's credit cards since 2003. He is filing BK7 and has about 60k in cc debt.  I have my own cc that I opened in 08/2007, the second was in 10/2007 and the third was in 08/2008. 

In 10/2008 I changed my first name and already reported to the cc lenders and had have cc with a new name. I didn't report to the credit bureaus until 10 days ago. My question ; What is the impact?

What is the impact of which? Changing your first name, or your husband's BK? (sorry to hear about that, btw)