Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding more credit cards to the mix vs Gardening

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Adding more credit cards to the mix vs Gardening

Hi, everyone! I recently joined the forums and I am still relatively new to all the credit card concepts and the credit card "game". My main question is inquiring about whether I should start gardening or whether I should apply for AMEX to get my foot in the door after 6 months due to my recent approval of CSP (I don't have AMEX yet). I've read that AMEX has a backdating process, which will help in the long run. My AAoA is only 1 year and 9 months or so. What would be the best move from here? Thanks for all the help!

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
tcbofade
Super Contributor

Re: Adding more credit cards to the mix vs Gardening

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi, everyone! I recently joined the forums and I am still relatively new to all the credit card concepts and the credit card "game". My main question is inquiring about whether I should start gardening or whether I should apply for AMEX to get my foot in the door after 6 months due to my recent approval of CSP (I don't have AMEX yet). I've read that AMEX has a backdating process, which will help in the long run. My AAoA is only 1 year and 9 months or so. What would be the best move from here? Thanks for all the help!

How many credit cards do you have?

How long have you had them?

Do you have a use for an Amex, or do you just want another card?

04/01/24 Fico 8: EX 763, EQ 799, TU 783.
Fico 9: EX 756 03/13/24, EQ 790 02/04/24, TU No idea.

Zero percent financing is where the devil lives...
Message 2 of 11
heyarrnold
Valued Contributor

Pre qual!!!! Have you checked if you're pre qualified with Amex yet? 

Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

@tcbofade wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

How many credit cards do you have?

How long have you had them?

Do you have a use for an Amex, or do you just want another card?

Hi and thanks for replying!