Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice Needed for Credit Newbies

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice Needed for Credit Newbies

Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to credit, turned 18 around 8 months ago. As of now, I have 18+ inquiries on my credit report (18 on Experian, 21 on Equifax, 19 on TransUnion). Here's a list of my credit cards:

• BoA Secured Card (opened around a week ago, $300 credit limit, not reported to the bureaus yet, closed in late March)
  • Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard (declined at first, successful reconsideration brings an approval with a $250 credit limit, opened around 2 weeks ago)
  • Capital One Journey Visa (opened on November 18, 2014, $300 credit limit, increased to $800 in late March)
  • Capital One Secured MasterCard (opened around 2-3 weeks ago, $200 credit limit, not reported yet)
  • Discover Secured it Chrome Card (opened around a week ago, $200 credit limit, not reported yet)
  • U.S. Bank Secured Visa Card (opened around a couple days ago, $200 credit limit, not reported yet)

My first card payment was made on January with the Journey card (no purchases made in the previous months), and according to Capital One Credit Tracker, I have a FAKO score of 719 now, while Credit Karma gives for 659 for Equifax and 660 for TransUnion (both were updated March 25), and Credit Sesame reports 651 (updated March 12).

Never carried a balance from month to month, made several payments throughout the month to maintain utilization of around 5% (except for the first month when I knew nothing about credit score and my statement closed at $286).

Really wanted to get an AmEx card, read in the forums that they are one of the most limited history-friendly lenders out there. Have 5 declined applications with American Express already (2 were canceled due to recently declined applications), last one on 3/11/2015 for a Green Charge Card, asked for a reconsideration but still declined, main reason was no credit score reported.