Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice appreciated! Inc, but not limited to, Amex cards and questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice appreciated! Inc, but not limited to, Amex cards and questions

Hi everyone,

I've taken to lurking around this forum quite recently, and have read up on a lot of posts and have picked up on some great tips/info!

A little background on myself: currently 20 years old. I'm currently a college student and am employed as well. Got my first credit card from Capital One at 18 with a limit of $300, which was increased to $500 a few months later and has stayed there ever since. I'm not particularly fussed about calling them up to ask for an increase, and have every intention of relegating this card to my sock drawer with only a small monthly subscription charged on it. This past July I applied for a Visa Classic with my credit union (2 year difference between these cards!), and was approved for a $2,000 limit (you can imagine how happy I was!). I plan on requesting an increase on the card to $5,000 (the max available for this particular card) next summer, close to the 1 year mark.

I have never missed a payment, and although the first year I ran high balances on my Cap1 card, I now have a much lower utilization % (less than 10). Current scores are: Transunion 703, Equifax 647 (factored in new Visa from 2 months ago, and high balance from last statement)