Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice for Future

tag
PaPaBrad
Established Member

Advice for Future

Currently new to credit and wondering how I should go about improving.

Credit Cards

Discover Student (500CL) - About to hit 6 Months (39% Util)

Student Loans

unSub - 3750 (Due to start payments 2015)

Inquires

Two - (Within this last year)

Scores

EXP-713 

EQ-725 (FICO 700)

TU- 707 (FICO 690)

I'm currently studying Abroad in Japan so not really using my credit card other then book purchases currently. But before coming I used it quite a bit.

Questions: I'd like to ask for a CLI from discover but should I lower my Utilization first? Would is be reasonable to ask for a 1000$ increase maybe more? Does the online application for a CLI become available once you hit 6 months?

Also, once returning to the USA in Feb I'd like to get another card or two. Recommendations? Something with Food and Gas benefits would be good!

Thanks

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Dustink
Valued Contributor

Re: Advice for Future

You should get your utilization reported at less than 10%. CLI of $1000 would be a reasonable request

Who do you bank with?

Too many INQs & low AAoA so I'm off to tend the Garden.     Age:23    

$17k       $8.5K          Closed          $19k      $6.5k        $24.2k        Closed         $5k       Closed     $8.5k        Closed      @2.49%
Message 2 of 13
PaPaBrad
Established Member

Currently bank PNC.

I'll work on the Utilization 

Message 3 of 13
Dustink
Valued Contributor

Once you hit the 6 month mark on your current card. Talk to your bank and see if you can get a card from them.

Maybe this one:

https://www.pnc.com/webapp/unsec/Blank.do?siteArea=/pnccorp/PNC/Home/Personal/Credit+Cards/CC/PNC+po...

$17k       $8.5K          Closed          $19k      $6.5k        $24.2k        Closed         $5k       Closed     $8.5k        Closed      @2.49%
Message 4 of 13
PaPaBrad
Established Member