Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice needed regarding Amex BCE and Citi DC

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice needed regarding Amex BCE and Citi DC

Hello everyone,

I had a few questions regarding applying for new cards. I have a fairly new and thin (though clean) credit file - Discover it (Opened Feb 16, CL 3000), and Chase Freedom (Opened Sep 16, CL 500). My FICO scores are TU-731 and EX-718. Reported income is around 28k (I'm a student working part time). I've been planning to apply to some new cards now that the Discover double cash back period is getting over, and I was looking at the Amex BCE and Citi DC cards. I did have a prequalified offer for the BCE on the Amex website with a 150$ bonus, while the Citi website doesn't show anything. 

I wanted to ask as to how reliable the Amex prequals are. Also, what would you say my chances of getting the Citi DC are? I just wanted a 2% CB card for general spend, and thought it would be nice to get a Mastercard as well. 

Also, why is an app spree recommended over spacing the applications over time?

Message 1 of 23
22 REPLIES 22
kdm31091
Super Contributor

Re: Advice needed regarding Amex BCE and Citi DC

With your income, I'd be careful using more than a couple cards, only because spreading your spend is going to dilute the rewards you stand to gain since most cards have redemption thresholds.