Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on getting 1st credit card?

tag
Kohler
Established Member

Advice on getting 1st credit card?

Hello. I've been interested in building my credit for the last few months. My CK score is 669. Transunion is 633. Whatever Discover pulls is around 610.

Age - 23. Income - $15,000 (no bills tho since I still live at home Smiley Very Happy). I'm also a full time college student.

Applied for Capital One Journey = Denied. They said I don't have enough income. Smiley Frustrated Frustrated because I only expected a $300 line of credit.

Applied for Discover IT student after getting a prequalified mail offer = Denied. They gave me about 4 reasons but I can't remember them. Sorry.

I have 2 hard pulls (Discover and Capital one). 5 accounts. 2 student loans worth $4,000 total with 100% payments made (9 mos. worth so far). Credit history is 5 years. I have 1 account in collections worth $100 that I refuse to pay. I don't really want to get into that but it'll fall off in a year and a half. Also I have 1 account (student loan) that I was late 7 payments and the account is now closed.

What would you do in my situation? I'd really like to start building my credit now... I'm just not sure what my next step should be. Should I reply back to the Capital One Journey denial and ask for a secured card? Advice? Thank you.

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita

Re: Advice on getting 1st credit card?

Welcome to the forum! A few questions first?

Do you belong to a CU?
How long ago was your last baddie?
Message 2 of 14
OptimalCS
Frequent Contributor

I ld start off with the cap one secured card.
"Wisdom is the principal thing..."
Message 3 of 14
Kohler
Established Member

09LEXIE-