cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on next step (college student)

tag
ssoccerh

Advice on next step (college student)

Hi, this is my first post so bear with me. If I need to post more info just let me know.

I am a college student, I'll be 21 in October and I have a yearly income of around $22,000 (working part time while in school). I currently have the following:

LGE Credit Union Visa: $500 (just over 2 years old)

Citi Forward Visa: $1500 (2 years old)

Chase Slate Mastercard: $500 (Around 6 months old)

Auto-loan of $5000 with around $3600 remaining

Never had a late payment or anything like that. I just am wondering what should I take as my step. I was thinking about asking for a CLI on my credit union card (to either 1000 or 1500) and applying for a new card in the next few months (had been looking at the discover it/discover it student or chase freedom).

Should I ask for a CLI on both my credit union and slate card, and if so to what? What new card should I apply for? 

THANKS so much for your help!

EDIT: I plan on paying off all my cards by next month to drop my utilization.

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita

Re: Advice on next step (college student)

Message 2 of 19
Commandolam
New Contributor

I'd shoot for the Chase Freedom. The revolving categories have been helpful to me (I'm also a college student) and should be to you as well since they include restaurants and gas. If you are able, I'd go for both the Discover It and the Chase Freedom to capitalize on all the categories they offer.

It seems like you'd get approved for both of them.

Age: 20 | AAoA: 1.1 Years | TU Fico: 725 | EX Fico: 719 | EQ Fico: 693
Last App: 12/09/2013
Message 3 of 19
Dubious
Frequent Contributor

Have you pulled any of your scores to know where you stand? 

Message 4 of 19
Contributor