cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I likely to get approved for a Barclay Rewards credit card? Currently a student. My scores within

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Am I likely to get approved for a Barclay Rewards credit card? Currently a student. My scores within

TransUnion: 720
Updated: May 28, 2017 from CreditKarma

VantageScore 3.0

Equifax: 712

Updated: May 28, 2017 from CreditKarma

VantageScore 3.0

Experian: 672

Updated: April 29, 2017 from Wells Fargo

FICO Bankcard Score 2

---------

I'm an engineering college student and have just started an internship for the summer, I'd like to purchase a laptop in order to be able to work on my own projects for my portfolio/resume.

That aside, I'm quite confused about all these different scoring models and companies that provide them.

I'd like to apply for a Barclays Rewards credit card through Apple but since I was denied once before, a year ago, I'm a bit scared to try again.

What score does Barclays look at to figure out if I should get approved or not? I take it Vantage isn't the one they look at since it's free and seems to be overall higher than my FICO score from Wells Fargo?

Any advice is welcome, thanks for your time.

24 REPLIES 24
JR_TX
Valued Contributor

Re: Am I likely to get approved for a Barclay Rewards credit card? Currently a student. My scores wi

Hey Edgar and Welcome to myFico forum!
Barclays uses Transunion Fico 8 Model almost all of the time as far as I know. Upwards of 620 should get you in without a hitch as long as no recent derog or too much Inqs though. When you app and get approved be careful though as they are like a very jealous partner that will kick you out by the curb and shut you down if they review you after a month or so with many new opened accts.
If you have a Discover, BofA or any Synchrony card, they give acct holders free FICO8.
Best of Luck in your endeavors!
Don't forget to post back your results. Smiley Happy