cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amazon Gift Card purchase using chase freedom or Discover it DO GET 5% CASH BACK

tag
DavidZeng
Regular Contributor

Amazon Gift Card purchase using chase freedom or Discover it DO GET 5% CASH BACK

Hi guys, I want to buy a camera on Amazon, but my credit limit is quite low, since I am still a grad student and just new to credit cards. I want to buy around 2500 Amazon gift cards using Freedom and Discover it together to Max the 5% cash back. But can the Amazon gift card earn 5% for both cards? I know gift cards at department store will work, but how about Amazon? 

It is urgent question, Pl help me out, since I really need to make the purchase for today to avoid minus balance (-XX) dollars on my credit card, reasons can be found here

http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Credit-Cards/Help-regarding-quot-Over-Credit-Limit-quot-with-Discove...

Update: Confirmed with Discover(Customer Cute Guy), gift cards from Amazon.com can get 5% cash back. 

Freedom also earn 5% for gift cards from Amazon.com  links here https://creditcards.chase.com/freedom/faq#B5  

Thanks for the info provided by takeshi74 and all other people!

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Kenny
Moderator Emeritus

Re: About Amazon Gift card purchase using chase freedom and Discover it

The great thing about Amazon is you can use credit card and gift cards to purchase the item. I've experience the 5% with Amazon payments on my discover, but never tried GCs with Discover or Freedom so I can't speak to that. GL! I do hope someone more knowledgeable comes on! Smiley Happy
Message 2 of 11
Closingracer
Established Member