Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

American Express Question

tag
Griselle
New Contributor

American Express Question

Hello Everyone! It's my first time to post. I've been reading a lot about American Express on these boards. I recently got up the courage and applied for my first AMEX card, the Blue Sky. Luckily, I was approved Smiley Happy

Now I was reading about the 3x CLI and I have a question as to whether it would be a good idea for me to attempt at the 61 days. I applied and was approved for a Chase Freedom and Best Buy Store that had not begun reporting before I app'd for my AMEX. My initial credit limit for AMEX was 4,700. Since at the time of approval my highest limit was my Chase slate at 4,000. With all that said, I'm wondering since my average age of accounts will be lower and my initial credit limit hovers around all my other limits, should I even try for an increase?

I do have the option to move the credit limit for the slate to my freedom so that I can get a higher reported limit before I try to get a CLI with AMEX. Thoughts or suggestions?

American Express Blue Sky- 14,000 | BOA 123 Rewards- 12,000 | Chase Freedom- 7,000 | Chase Saphire Preferred- 7,000 | Best Buy Store Card- 2,400 | Discover More- 1,900

In the garden until 06/2014!!
Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
jugstore
Valued Member

Re: American Express Question

I'm in a somewhat similar situation.  App spreed at the end of April and snagged the Amex Blue, Citi SImplicity, Chase Freedom, and Discover IT.  I know the INQs and drop in AAOA will drop my score.  I want to answer two questions before I do the 61 day CLI:

1. How much did the INQs and loweing of my AAOA affect my credit score?
  2. How much will my scores rebound in 61 days?