Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

American Express pre approval

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

American Express pre approval

If you got a pre approval for an American Express but were going to try to get a mortgage in 1-2 months would you risk your score dropping to get it?
I'm not sure if I get the AMEX if it will drop my score but I don't want to miss my opportunity to get it. I know I shouldn't but it's hard to say no.
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
AverageJoesCredit
Legendary Contributor

Re: American Express pre approval

I would think trying to get a cc within 1 or 2 months of applying for a mortgage would be a no no. After you close sure. The card will still be there when you finish your mortgage, which i assume is more important.
Message 2 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

That's what I'm thinking too. I've been rebuilding for about 18 months and an Amex being my goal card. I checked for preapproval today because I would assume it would say no like it always does but it didn't and I think that's why I'm having such a hard time just putting it out of my mind.
Message 3 of 16
Scupra
Super Contributor

Do yourself a favor and don't app for anything that close to closing on a home.

Filed BK7: 7/2012 (start score EQ 560 / TU 529) Discharge 10/2012
801 EQ FICO 06/2022
797 TU FICO 04/2022
793 EX FICO 04/2022
$30k NFCU Platinum | $30.7k NFCU cashRewards Sig | $15k NavChek | $7.1k Cap1 Quicksilver | $10k Amazon Store | $19k Cap1 VentureOne | $16k Barclay Aviator | $5k Chase Freedom | $5k Chase Sapphire Preferred | $9k Costco Visa | $20k AMEX BCE | AMEX Gold | NFCU Platinum #2 $19.3k | Apple $8.5k
Message 4 of 16
SecretAzure
Valued Contributor

Wait until after closing! Don't do anything that might run your credit. Don't try and set up utilities in advance, don't switch cell phone providers, don't apply for credit, don't finance any large purchases (even furniture)....until AFTER!