cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Airline Credit. How to use the rest of it.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Amex Airline Credit. How to use the rest of it.

The transaction for my AA gift cards were posted on the 20th of last month. Amex reimbursed me on the 22nd
Message 11 of 34
Anonymous
Not applicable

What about a $25 remaining benefit? I have $25 left on my Business Plat Card, which is set to Delta for 2017. If I buy a $50 card, will that trigger the $25 credit? I have never done a partial before.... 

Message 12 of 34
Shadowfactor
Valued Contributor

According to amex’s Own terms. Yes it will.
But that’s only if they give you credit for the gift card purchase.

Total Revolving Limits $254,800

Message 13 of 34
UncleB
Credit Mentor

I have my PRG set to Delta and I did two $50 cards back in the spring and both were credited within a few days. 

It's always YMMV, though, and if they ever 'fix' the loophole you can't call about it since it's not supposed to work, anyway.

Message 14 of 34
K-in-Boston
Credit Mentor

@Shadowfactor wrote:
According to amex’s Own terms. Yes it will.
But that’s only if they give you credit for the gift card purchase.

This exactly. I had partial credit for a large-ish beverage order (Smiley Embarassed) issued by Amex for Southwest.

The Platinum Card from American Express: Just try to walk off of your next Southwest flight without assistance.

Message 15 of 34
SkyCommander
Frequent Contributor

Yes on the partial credits working. I had $50 remaining when I bought a $70 SW ticket and the credit took off 50 and I had to pay the remaining balance. I came out even because I ended up buying 2 early bird check ins and 4 drinks.

Chase Hyatt | Chase Sapphire Preferred | Chase Freedom Unlimited | Amex ED | Amex Hilton | Amex Bonvoy | BoA Amtrak | CapOne Quicksilver
Message 16 of 34
Shadowfactor
Valued Contributor

I told everyone I would update this thread after I attempted to do the airline credit.