Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex BCE 3x CLI!! WOOT!

tag
mistabgeez
New Contributor

Re: Amex BCE 3x CLI!! WOOT!

@Funk-O-Meter wrote:

I've been rebuilding for a few years now and gardening (mostly) for about 5 months now and hadn't really been keeping up with reading and research and what not lately. So I hadn't realized that after 61 days from activation I could/should do the online CLI request. So I read.... I think... I apply for 3X from 2k to 6k...hit the button... BAM! 6K credit limit! I nearly fell off my chair!Smiley Surprised

My total utilization was 37% (three cards, no loans) and my Amex utilization was about 25%. I've been using it for some bills and stuff and I did get it up over 50% at least once I remember.

I'm looking for a $10k or so auto loan in several months and so I want to get my accounts utilizations down and let them simmer and report. This more than doubles my total available credit and my overal utilizatoin dives to 16% and it was just a soft pull. Smiley Tongue

Thanks AMEX! And thanks to these forums! Although I'd like a lower rate (22%) I'm more than happy with how I've been treated and they're like miricle grow for my credit.

Question: Since this isn't a newly opened account and there was no hard pull I can't imagine it could have any negative effect on my report at all. Am I right?

Congrats! That is great. I am looking to do the same thing. My 60 days are up in two more weeks.

AMEX BCE $15,500 Citi Double Cash $8,700 USAA $6,000
Chase Freedom $2,500 Discover It $10,600
M & T Visa $2,500 CU Visa $10,000, BOAmericard $7,500
Message 11 of 20
mistabgeez
New Contributor

@flowfaster wrote:

Congrats.  You are right about Amex being miracle grow for credit.  As soon as I got my $6000 BCP, Discover, Bank of America and GECRB followed suit.  BoA and Discover raised to 6K.  GECRB then gave me insane limits on my Amazon and wally cards.  All in 1-2 months since getting the Amex revolver.  Higher limits 100% beget higher limits.