cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Blue Cash vs Everyday for those with low grocery spend.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Amex Blue Cash vs Everyday for those with low grocery spend.

Hypothetically, if you were going to use these cards for ONLY grocery purchases, and if your grocery spend is generally low (say $200 a month), which card would you use for the purchases and why? This person dislikes Barclaycard so Sallie Mae is not an option.

The way I see it, BCE gives you 3% on $200 = $6 cash back per month.

Everyday would give you 2X MR on $200 = 400 MR points per month.

People value MR points at 1.8-2c each, but only when redeemed for airline travel. Since I've never used MR points before, I'm not sure how to advice (both mine are cashback). Can you pay for tickets using some MR points (say 400x12 = 6000 at the end of one year) and the rest cash, and still get 1.8-2.0 cpp, or can you only redeem the MR points for tickets only when you have enough to pay for the entire ticket?

I guess in the case of the former, I would recommend BCE > Everyday given the spend, and in the case of the latter, I would recommend Everyday > BCE even for low spend since it's effectively 4% cashback for groceries.

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
takeshi74
Senior Contributor

Re: Amex Blue Cash vs Everyday for those with low grocery spend.

What others do doesn't matter.  You need to decide based on your needs/wants/etc.  If you're considering MR then make sure you review redemptions so you can get an idea of what value you can get per MR point.  This is not a universal matter.  I have very little use for MR points which is why I have been reluctant to sign up for any of them.

@Anonymous wrote:

Since I've never used MR points before, I'm not sure how to advice (both mine are cashback).