Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Platinum: Travel delay protection

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Amex Platinum: Travel delay protection

First of all Happy November everyone! My credit history is fairly new less than 9 months old so I'm still learning about the benefits of using credit cards. I was approved for the Amex Platinum in September and planned to use on my upcoming trips to Europe. I have learned that unlike most travel cards the Amex Platinum doesn't include delayed insurance coverage. Do I need to buy my own travel insurance to have this coverage then? Am I safe just purchasing coverage for delayed baggage and flights?  and  I do have a USAA Visa Signature card that includes such coverage, but it's not going to help me meet my minimum spending for Amex. Any advice is greatly appreciated! 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
wasCB14
Super Contributor

Re: Amex Platinum: Travel delay protection

@Anonymous wrote:

First of all Happy November everyone! My credit history is fairly new less than 9 months old so I'm still learning about the benefits of using credit cards. I was approved for the Amex Platinum in September and planned to use on my upcoming trips to Europe. I have learned that unlike most travel cards the Amex Platinum doesn't include delayed insurance coverage. Do I need to buy my own travel insurance to have this coverage then? Am I safe just purchasing coverage for delayed baggage and flights?  and  I do have a USAA Visa Signature card that includes such coverage, but it's not going to help me meet my minimum spending for Amex. Any advice is greatly appreciated! 

Trip delay and baggage delay insurance are nice benefits for people who fly often on their own expense, but not necessarily worth buying separately if those are the only things you need covered. It's hard to give you advice without knowing the cost and complexity of your itinerary and the insurance details and quote.