cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Premium Car Rental Protection.....

tag
drsmith
Frequent Contributor

Re: Amex Premium Car Rental Protection.....

@joestay wrote:

Sorry to bring this tread back up but I didn't want to make a new thread.

Okay.  I need to rent a car this friday in another state.  I decided to sign up for the premium car rental protection just right now.  I will reserve a car later tonight online.  Anyone know what's in the "welcome kit" that will be coming to me in 7-10 days (i'll be out of state during this whole time)?  Is there anything important I need to sign?  Anything else important I should know because this is the first time I am renting a car.  Thanks.

No, it's just a copy of their insurance policy

As a car rental agent I'd love to elaborate on this. Almost all credit card rental car coverage is secondary, which means it won't do squat until you've exhausted your personal insurance. Also, all of you who use personal insurance may want to read the fine print. Personal insurance that covers loss of use usually only covers what the insurance company deems as a "reasonable cost" which in most cases is about $30/day

We rent mini vans for about $400 a day right now, so that leaves a pretty huge gap that you would be responsible for. Renters also rarely are aware of what they are actually responsible for on the vehicle. Hail damage, accidents, trees falling on the car, the tires, and obvious damage all is your responsibility. We had tennis ball sized hail last year, and you can't imagine how many people were enraged when they found out we would be billing them for the hail damage to the cars.

Amex's premium protection "which you have to enroll in, not their secondary coverage" is the only reasonable substitue to the damage waivers car rental companies offer in my opinion. I would highly advise anybody with an AmEx to enroll on this.