Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex financial review - help

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Amex financial review - help

I got hit with Amex Financial Review yesterday. My 3 Amex cards have their charging suspended now. I had been using Card#1 for 8 months, Card#2 for 5 months and Card#3 for 2 months. I have only 2.x years of credit history and credit score ~730. I pay their balances each month. I did purchase of VR’s on CVS last couple of months and I assume that’s the reason for trigger.

I am not comfortable to fill up the form 4506T and send it back to them as I exaggerated(60% more – it was not really mean, but I did not earn as expected) my income during cc applications as I was/am self-employed. I am afraid if Amex would close my accounts even if I send them the filled 4506T.

I have balances now on the cards (statements have not closed for all 3 cards) and I will be paying the balances today. I plan to close my 3 Amex cards in a day or two before the deadline to submit my FR. Will this be a good idea? If I do so, will I be able to get Amex cards in future? Basically I am not confident with 4506T fill-up and I do not want Amex to close my accounts. Can I do the request for account closure (for all 3 accounts) via Phone or secure message? What could be a good reason from me to Amex for closure request of my accounts?

I would appreciate your answers/ suggestions. Thank you for your help.

Message 1 of 58
57 REPLIES 57
Happychap
Frequent Contributor

Re: Amex financial review - help

They would probably just place an hard limit on your charge cards and maybe lower the limit on your revolving. They very rarely close accounts in good standing. You have 8 months of good history with them.
Message 2 of 58
Anonymous
Not applicable

each card has only 2k spend limit (very low CL).

Message 3 of 58
Blurbz
Contributor

I second the above.  As long as you've paid taxes, hopefully you can escape with just CLD/hard limits.