Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex will not let me pay?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Amex will not let me pay?

Ok guys, please don't get on my case too bad if this is common knowledge or is stated clearly somewhere and I missed it... 

I just got my BCE card and charged $41 and $140 over the course of 2 days. When the $41 charge posted, I paid it immediately. Now I have a balance of $140 that I would like to pay as well since I have the cash to do so in my bank. Well, I didn't have a problem at all making the 1st payment, but now when I click the make a payment button it will not let me make the subsequent $140 payment. It just keeps saying no payment due at this time. Well, I know there isn't a payment due as the statement closes 3/20 but I want to pay it now. Why will it not let me make a payment now, but would let me make a payment 2 days ago? And again, my apologies if this has been covered. I am just new to Amex and perhaps didn't understand the "rules"?

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Namaste7
Established Contributor

Re: Amex will not let me pay?

After the statement cuts, you won't have a problem making payments. You can make 1 payment per business day. Scheduled payments can be made up until the payment due date.
~~MMXX~~
2024 Goal$
2023 Goal$
FICOs 760+
Message 2 of 19
dragontears
Senior Contributor

You can only make 1 payment in your first billing cycle. After your first statement you can pay multiple times, it is just a quirk of amex. Since amex takes 2-3 statements to report it really only matters if you have a low CL
Message 3 of 19
Anonymous
Not applicable

Oh geez, I wish I had known! I really don't want $140 posting to credit. I usually pay 2 times a month on all my cards so they are paid in full. I just use my cards for rewards points purposes only. I just find it odd they slipped up and let me pay the first $41 a couple of days ago. Oh well, live and learn, ya know?

Message 4 of 19
dragontears
Senior Contributor