Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Annual Income to receive credit card?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Annual Income to receive credit card?

Hi, I'm new to all of this credit card stuff so, this may sound stupid. I'm looking into getting a credit card to help build credit. I am a light spender so, I was looking at the Amex BCE card. Well, I started to apply and then realized that I had to put my annual income. I have only been working since November of 2012. Before that I was a stay at home mom for two years and didn't generate any income. Previous to having a baby I did work. So, my question is since, I only have my W2 from 2012 to go off of and that only shows three months of income...should I estimate for the year or what? Sorry if that sounds dumb but, like I said I'm new to all this. Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
daybreakgonesXe
Valued Contributor

Re: Annual Income to receive credit card?

I would estimate your annual income based on those 3 months. You will be making a similar amount this year anyways!
Message 2 of 5
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to the forums!

It's always legitimate to estimate your income for the year.  On (almost) any W2 income verification, that's what the last two paystubs will show anyway.

        
Message 3 of 5
thom02099
Valued Contributor

@daybreakgonesXe wrote:
I would estimate your annual income based on those 3 months. You will be making a similar amount this year anyways!

+1 ! 

And welcome to the forums!  Not a dumb question at all; we all have to start somewhere, and finding this forum is a great beginning for you! 

Message 4 of 5
Pilotdude
Established Contributor

Remember that most folks embellish their income claims anyway.  It a lot like a resume'.

Also, there are sources of income that you do not have to disclose if you do not want it used for consideration purposes; ie Alimony, certain investments, kickbacks from your bookie, etc etc.