New Visitor

Annual Income to receive credit card?

Hi, I'm new to all of this credit card stuff so, this may sound stupid. I'm looking into getting a credit card to help build credit. I am a light spender so, I was looking at the Amex BCE card. Well, I started to apply and then realized that I had to put my annual income. I have only been working since November of 2012. Before that I was a stay at home mom for two years and didn't generate any income. Previous to having a baby I did work. So, my question is since, I only have my W2 from 2012 to go off of and that only shows three months of income...should I estimate for the year or what? Sorry if that sounds dumb but, like I said I'm new to all this. Thanks in advance!

Valued Contributor

Re: Annual Income to receive credit card?

I would estimate your annual income based on those 3 months. You will be making a similar amount this year anyways!
Capital One Quicksilver World Mastercard $20k | JCPenney Gold $10k | Shell Drive for Five $800 | Chase Freedom Visa Signature $9.8k | TD Bank Easy Rewards Visa Signature $5k | Chase Sapphire Visa Signature $10k | American Express Blue Sky $13.7k | Discover IT $13k | SavingStar American Express $14.8k | American Express BCE $11.3k

FICOS: EX 759 EQ 704 TU 754 VantageScore 3.0: EX 746 EQ 747 TU 747 Credit Sesame (EX) 756 Credit.com (EX) 784
Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to the forums!

It's always legitimate to estimate your income for the year.  On (almost) any W2 income verification, that's what the last two paystubs will show anyway.

Starting Score: EQ 561, TU 567, EX 599* (12/30/11, EX lender pull 12/29/11)
Current Score: EQ 04 700, TU 04 731, EX 98 725 (05/24/15)
Goal Score: 700 on EQ 04 (01/01/16)

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Valued Contributor

daybreakgonesXe wrote:
I would estimate your annual income based on those 3 months. You will be making a similar amount this year anyways!

+1 !