cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Another dreaded Barclay's question

tag
idajedd

Another dreaded Barclay's question

So.  I've been rebuilding for the last 2 years or so.  The first card I got was a US Bank Secured, I threw the minimum $300 at it and never thought much about it.  I also got a CreditOne (blech) and Walmart, but they're not relevant to this.

In November, I was approved for a Barclaycard, $1200 limit.  

In March, I got the letter I'd been waiting for - preapproval for a Chase Freedom, which I took, $1500 limit.

Today, I get US Bank calling me, saying they want me to come in to upgrade my secured to a real credit card, etc. I checked the prequal online, and it seems legit.  

BUT...will this kill my Barclays?  I know they're touchy, and I have high inqs from being a little fast-and-loose early on, plus some car purchases in between.  Just wondering what my odds of AA/CLD are if I do another HP.  I'd really like to have something better in my wallet than the secured card, but I don't want to lose what I've got, either. 

Any advice you have, I'd appreciate.  Thanks Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
myjourney
Super Contributor

Re: Another dreaded Barclay's question

I can point you to a thread where out of 40 pages plus of people with Barclay cards only one has had any negative reaction from Barclay.

And in that one case they were carrying a lot of balances on a lot of cards...Can't blame Barclay for that.

IMHO go for it and congrats should you take the unsecured card

Before you app think...
Have you done your research of the CC?
Does it fit your spending?
Do you have a plan for the bonus w/o going into debt?
Can you afford the AF?
Do you know the cards benefits? Is it worth the HP?
Message 2 of 5
improvingmycredit
Valued Contributor

@idajedd wrote: