Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

App or Garden?

tag
barthooper
Frequent Contributor

App or Garden?

I'm unsure of my next move. I'm new to the world of revolving accounts, since I got my first card at the beginning of this year.
I now have 3. Barclay Rewards MC: $1,500, Sallie Mae: $4,700, Quicksilver: $10,000.

I had been planning on going for the US Bank Cash+ in the near future, for the 5% dining as that is my only remaining large category
I don't have covered. Lately I've been considering apping for an Amex, to be able to take advantage of MSD on possible future cards, even though it wouldn't benefit me from a rewards standpoint because most categories are currently covered and I don't care for travel rewards either.

I have multiple student loans ranging from 3 to 5 years old contributing to my AAoA, so it isn't incredibly low, and a possible reason why the Amex backdating wouldn't help too much, as these loans are active and will continue to age, along with my other cards.

Alternatively, would I be better served gardening for a year or more? Thanks.

Edit: Formatting

Quicksilver - 16k | Discover It - 34k | Citi DC - $21k | Chase Amazon - 8k | Chase Reserve - 19.5k | Chase Preferred - 5k | EX FICO (Discover CSC) 788
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
coldnmn
Mega Contributor

Re: App or Garden?

Gardening is a good choice. That being said if you apply for AMEX just before the end of the year you lock in your member since date for any future AMEX cards. So your future AAoA wont be hurt when applying. US Bank is very conservative and will more then likely want to see more history from your current cards. They manually review 99% of all applications.  Congratulations on your credit journey so far.

Discover IT $17k / US Bank Ace (VSig) $13.5K / US Bank Cash+ (VSig) $13.5k
Sam's Mastercard $15k / Walmart Mastercard $10k / Blispay $7.5k PayPal Ex MC $10.8k
CareCredit 5k / Husq $5k / Cap1 QS $4.5k / Barclay Ring $5.35k / Citi DC (WMC) $12k