Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apply for Credit Card Opinions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Apply for Credit Card Opinions

Hello Im a full time student and I recently opened my first credit card around 3 months ago. The citi thank you preferred student card. Right now my credit score is on a range from 700-715. Is it a good idea to open a new card or upgrade my current card to the citi thank you preferred regular card to receive a sign up bonus. Or should i wait because my credit history is still really low and my credit isnt that great. Im looking for a card that has a good sign up bonus with no annual fee. Its going to be a everyday use card. Whats ur take on it. Thank you in advance

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
CYBERSAM
Senior Contributor

Re: Apply for Credit Card Opinions

Discover it, AMEX BCE, Quicksilver all have no AF and good reward program. They also are very good cards to grow for CLI with SP.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

It's only been 3 months.  I would consider using the card over the course of the next 9 mos to a year, and applying for 1-2 more then.  Credit score is decent, but score isn't the only factor as they also look at credit profile and income.  If you're income isn't what they're looking for as a student you may be disappointed in your starting credit limits, if you're approved at all. 

Message 3 of 8
stellar
Established Contributor

When you upgrade or product change a card, you don't receive a sign up bonus.  You only get one if you just apply for the card.

Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

List your three scores, where they are from, and your number of inquiries on each bureau.

Message 5 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Score

Transunion = 717 0 inquiry

Equifax = 696 3 inquiry

I just did some research and was thinking of either the Chase freedom or the unlimited. What do u think of those cards and if I will get approved by thise cards. 

Message 6 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable