Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Applying for AMEX PRG

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Applying for AMEX PRG

Hi everyone, I have a quick question to ask that I could not find the answer to on google. I recently applied (and was approved) for the Marriot Rewards Premier card from Chase, and was wondering if it's better to wait for the new card to report before applying for the AMEX PRG, or just go ahead and apply right now? For some background, I am currently an undergraduate in college with a reported annual income of approximately $26,000 and have $3,400 limits across my Chase Freedom and Capital One Journey with the Marriot adding an additional $7,000. I'm not sure whether or not it's better to wait as I have read a few posts on these forums about people being denied from AMEX for 'having sufficient credit.'

Also, on a side note, before entering college my school had asked if I wanted to opt-out of recieving 'spam' credit mail and I did, but recently I manually opted back in via the automated system and was wondering if anyone had any idea about how long it takes for one to start recieving offers, as I was hoping to apply for the PRG under the 50,000 MR offer.

Thanks in advance. 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Burned2manybridgesB4
Valued Contributor

Re: Applying for AMEX PRG

If you want offers, go to the amex site, and sign up. Opted in, or out, you'll get the emails from them.

If your loans aren't deffered, your balances are low, and you can afford to burn a HP, then go for it.

Message 2 of 5
mongstradamus
Super Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: