cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

As a student, can I include my tuition, paid by my university, in my annual income?

tag
jackff
Established Member

As a student, can I include my tuition, paid by my university, in my annual income?

I am a student with fellowship from my universtiy. My tuition fee is paid by the university as well. When I apply for credit cards, should my income be the amount of fellowship + tuition or just the amount of fellowship?

I included my tuition in all the credit card applications before because my friends said this should be fine when I applied for my first card and they do this too. Is this okay?

The fact that my universtiy is paying my tuition is explicitly stated in my offer letter, but only my fellowship is filed on my tax documents. If unfornately some day I receive a finacial review, will it be a trouble that the income on my tax forms is only half of the annual income I reported in my application? Can I show them my offer letter to explain this?

Thank you.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Stralem
Established Contributor

Re: As a student, can I include my tuition, paid by my university, in my annual income?

...Tuition?

I highly doubt that's kosher. My tuition is $25k/yr. If I added that to my part-time work, I'd be "making" in excess of $50K. That'd be a hell of a discrepancy to explain.

I'd just stick to using your fellowship monies. Grant are OK too, in my opinion. Loans? Eh... Unless you're a grad student, I wouldn't chance it. Any aid you receive from your parents is also game.

I Have Way Too Many of These.

American Express - No CLI or Appreciation Gift in 7 Years

Citibank - Handing Out Credit Limits Like Candy

Chase - Surprisingly, Still Tolerating My Credit-Chasing Ways

Bank of America - My Newest Bae.

Everyone Else.
Message 2 of 7
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita

Re: As a student, can I include my tuition, paid by my university, in my annual income?

@jackff wrote: