Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto CLI Strategy for new Chase Freedom

tag
navyox
Regular Contributor

Auto CLI Strategy for new Chase Freedom

I did search this topic and found some older threads.    I've had the card for less than a month, first statement has not been cut yet.    From what I read is it looks like the majority would recommend using it alot (for stuff you'd normally buy of course), PIF, and hope for the best.   A minority suggest letting a small balance carry.

Since I'm new to Chase, I plan on going conservative and not trying the small balance approach.   I will just use it for whatever I'd normally spend and PIF when statement is cut.   Any other wisdom  out there, anyone gotten auto-CLIs from Chase on a new Freedom account?

My normal CC spend is $700-900 a month, I hope that would be enough to trigger a CLI, but with the limit of $2500 not sure it will be.   My short-term goal is a bigger CL for utilization purposes, long-term build a good relationship with Chase should I decide to go for CSP or United Mileage Explorer.

Starting Score: 676 CK 5/13. Current: 717 EX 6/15 -- Last App: 6/2014
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
CribDuchess
Established Contributor

Re: Auto CLI Strategy for new Chase Freedom

My DH opened his Freedom card in mid-January this year with a starting limit of $4,000.  In early February, he used it to buy new tires for about $700.  This is the only purchase he made with the Freedom.  Seriously.  Since it had 0% APR for the first 15-months, we just made $100 per month payments.  In June, he received an auto-CLI of $2,300 for a new limit of $6,300.

Yes, he got auto-LUV after just 5 months and had only used the card once and was carrying a balance.  Meanwhile, I run about $2,000 through my Freedom most months, PIF before statement cuts, and have not seen any auto-LUV.  Pffffttttt!   lol

FICOs: TU08 842 EQ08 850 EX08 850