Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Available credit to income and CLIs

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Available credit to income and CLIs

Is it difficult to get CLIs if your total available credit is already close to your annual income? I'm a professional student so I have a fixed and fairly limited income over the next few years. Right now, my available credit is about 80% of my income.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
cutemarty1
Regular Contributor

Re: Available credit to income and CLIs

Depends on your credit history and spending habits....

MY income is 105k but my total Credit line is only 35k for revolving cards.

My TL : Discover 45k / Venture 39k / BCE AMEX 33k / BoA123 Sig 24k / WF propel 17k/ Home Depot 16.5 K / Barclays Arrival WEMC 15k / Citi World WEMC 16.5k / CU Visa 11k/ Nordstrom Visa 20K / penfed rewards visa 20k / Citi AA 16.5k / spark business 15k/ Chase ink business 15k/ delta Amex platinum 14k/ boa rewards 7k /Macy Store 5.3K / Best buy 2.4K / BBRZ Gold 1.4K / PNC 20k / AppleCard 40k/ citi premier 12.7k / chase Amazon 7k
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I see. Well the interesting thing is that I asked Amex for a CLI at 8 months which they denied b/c my credit to income was sufficient in their eyes. I was surprised b/c my history with them (and in general) is good, I waited much longer than the 61 days to request my first CLI, and I always pay my cards in full every month, leaving me about a 7% utilization all the time. The CSR said I should not expect any CLI until my income changes. However, 2 months later they approved me for a 2nd card with almost double the credit line and at the lowest available APR, which means my internal risk score with them is quite good. One factor is that the application did ask for total value of liquid assets while the CLI form does not.

Message 3 of 9
frogfan12
Established Contributor

@cutemarty1 wrote:

Depends on your credit history and spending habits....