Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BEST WAY TO MANAGE SEVERAL CARDS?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

BEST WAY TO MANAGE SEVERAL CARDS?

Everyone has been so helpful Thank You!

I’m fairly new to carrying several credit cards. I do like the idea of having cards for different needs. What is the best strategy for keeping scores up or steady when managing several cards?

I do use my rewards cards a lot. Should I spread out card usage? For reporting purposes, does making small purchases makes sense on the cards, or is it best to leave at 0?

I have 6 cards, and I can’t imagine even looking into getting additional cards without first managing the ones that I have well.

Any bit of info is greatly appreciated..

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
NRB525
Super Contributor

Re: BEST WAY TO MANAGE SEVERAL CARDS?

That's a really nice mix of cards. Congratulations on getting to this point.

The Freedom card requires you to accept/register the Category spend for the quarter, so you want to complete that at the start of each quarter. It will pick up any charges already done, so the first month of the quarter is fine. The Freedom category bonus will most often be better than any of your other cards, so in that category, should be favored for that quarter.

The other cards have various strengths in the various daily spend categories, so just read through their offerings, and kind of lean toward one card or the other for certain types of spend. However, they tend to be only 1% difference in many main categories, so not much difference really.

My preference is to try to use each card a little each month, and I don't worry about cards reporting balances.