Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Balance Transfer question on how to use it

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Balance Transfer question on how to use it

Hi, I am new to balance transfer and don't know if I am getting a good deal here. I have a citi diamond card and they are giving me an offer for a balance transfer. My statement only shows APR for Standard Purchase at 17.99% (v) and Advance standard at 25.24% (v). There is no Balance Transfer APR on the statement, but the offer is telling me 0.00% Promo APR until 12/01/2015 and 17.99 % Variable after 12/01/2015 and on Balance Transfer including Direct Deposit. Is this a good offer, I will copy and paste the offer at the bottom.

My question is

Does the Balance Transfer APR of 0.00% has any effect with Standard Purchase?

If I take out $5000 and Direct Deposit to my checking account when do I have to pay them back, is it monthly payment?

I am looking to paying them back the full balance within a year so what do I own them within the $5000, is it the 3% fee?

Offer:
  • 0.00% Promotional APR on Balance Transfers.
  • After this promotional offer ends, your standard variable APR for purchases of 17.99% will be applied to any unpaid promotional balances. This APR will vary with the market based on the Prime Rate.
Duration:
  • Until 12/01/2015.
Fee:
  • $5 or 3% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
NRB525
Super Contributor

Re: Balance Transfer question on how to use it

The BT amount will show up on your statement as a separately identified bucket, with a 0% rate. You don't see it now because you haven't used the BT feature yet.

BT usually means transfer to pay down another credit card.

In order to deposit cash to your bank account, that is a cash advance, usually not part of this opening 0% APR offer.