Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Balance transfers?

tag
jdirilo
Frequent Contributor

Balance transfers?

Ok, this may be a stupid question so please fogive me! But I am a newbie to credit cards. I have 2 unsecured for $500 each and 2 secured for $500 & $200. What exactly is a b alance transfer, and what are the pros and cons? I didn't know anything about the limits/utilization until I started reading in here. I was just racking them up to nearly the limit and making several payments within a month. I didn't realize that when the billing cycle closes, it would report the balance from that day, so my utilization is super high(68%). Is it a good idea to transfer a balance, and how does it affect me? Thanks for your input!

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
LS2982
Mega Contributor

Re: Balance transfers?

BT's are only good if your get a low rate or 0%, judging by the cards you currently have I don't think they would offer good BT's. What are your scores currently? INQ's?

EQ FICO 548 3/3/16
Message 2 of 15
jdirilo
Frequent Contributor

Well according to CreditKarma, I have 23 recent inquiries....terrible, I know. Last one was Monday, so I am trying to "garden" for now. It's really hard!  According to CK my score is 566, but last time I checked TU on their website, it was 617. and I am sure EX & EQ are in the mid-high 500s. My scores suck, I know. But I am trying to clean up my credit. I had a BK discharged in 09, and knew nothing about rebuilding credit until recently. I have cards with Cap1, Wells fargo, and NFCU. I have one auto loan, and a few collections that report as either paid, settled, or included in BK. And 2 judgements that I tried to have removed but now they just report as included in my bk ch 7. 

Message 3 of 15
jdirilo
Frequent Contributor

Oh and a couple of charge offs, one from Univ of Phx and the other from global payments, but it was also incl in my BK, for some reason isnt reporting correctly. 

Message 4 of 15
Anonymous