Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Balances on Existing Cards affecting Credit Apps

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Balances on Existing Cards affecting Credit Apps

Hello All -- New to the boards and have been researching before I apply for a new card. As a recent college grad, I currently have a Discover More at $2000CL and a Capital One MasterCard at $750. The last application said I was denied because of my 'high balance on both cards'. I had a few hundred balance on each existing, but I just cleared out the balance on my Discover. So my question is, if I were to apply right now, having just paid off my one balance completely, would that be reflected immediately on the credit report that is run for the application? Or is there a specific length of time I would have to carry the balance at 0 for it to be "settled in" so to speak. Any help would be greatly appreciated! These forums are all so helpful and I am really enjoying browsing!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
improvingmycredit
Valued Contributor

Re: Balances on Existing Cards affecting Credit Apps

Hi and Welcome to the FICO Forums!

Typically, most credit card companies report to the credit bureaus after the statement cut.  It usually takes a couple of days for the credit bureaus to reflect the new balance.  To be safe, I would give it at least 5 working days after the statement cuts before apping.  Hope this helps.  Smiley Happy

Starting Score: 642
Current Score: EQ 773, EX 780, TU 777 (All FICO)
Goal Score: 800+

Cards: NFCU Flagship 50K, DC 30K, BCP 28.6K, Arrival+ 25K, Citi DP 22.8K, CSR 20.5K, TotalRewards 25K, QuickSilver 20K

Message 2 of 8
anybodii
New Contributor

You can call your credit card company after the payment has been applied and they can "refresh" your score. It usually is updated on your report after only a few days. I had Chase do it and took 3 days.

Message 3 of 8
namvet
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: