Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Barclay BT Checks

tag
CenturyChild
Frequent Contributor

Barclay BT Checks

Has anyone used these to write a check to yourself?

I was getting ready to take out a small personal loan and Barclay sent me checks. It did say I could write it to myself, so I figured that would be a cheaper way (better rate) than taking out a loan.

My question though is how long do these typically take to clear? I've never done this with Barclay before and don't want to use the money till i know its cleared.

I deposited the check yesterday, and it has not deducted from my avail credit yet.

My Credit Union said they wouldn't put a hold on it and I could use the funds now, but BT checks often come back for many reasons, so it may be a good idea to wait until cleared first.

(She didnt meant Barclay in particular just the BT checks in general but it still worried me)

I planned on waiting anyway, but curious how long the process typically takes from those who have done it before.

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
DaveInAZ
Senior Contributor

Re: Barclay BT Checks

I used a Barclays BT check to myself a couple years ago. My small community bank didn't put a hold on the funds either, and I started using the funds. But if your concerned, wait until you see the BT posted on your Barclay account and deducted from your available credit. As I recall it took around 4 biz days.

Message 2 of 19
CenturyChild
Frequent Contributor

Thats about what I expected.  Thanks so much.

Message 3 of 19
Anonymous
Not applicable

May I ask what kind of Barclaycard had the BT checks, how long you had the card before getting them, etc
Message 4 of 19
lhcole77
Valued Contributor

I love my Barclays BT checks!

Easy peasy to use and only 1% BT fee for me.

Message 5 of 19
DaveInAZ
Senior Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:
May I ask what kind of Barclaycard had the BT checks, how long you had the card before getting them, etc