Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Barclay's

tag
12njoy
Super Contributor

Barclay's

I got a Barclay's Rewards Mastercard in March 2013 with a limit of $950.  I called in July 2013 and told them I was considering closing my account and they asked why, I said the low credit line (Not really low in comparison with other lines at that time).  I had attempted to get another card (LL Bean) from them earlier in July and that was denied.  The representative asked if I wanted to try for a credit line increase, I asked if that would be a HP or SP, she said a SP.  She asked how much I wanted my total credit line to be, I said $1,500 (was being conservative with $550 increase).  I was approved for a credit line of $1,500 and they indeed used a SP or the HP they had done earlier in July because I did not have a second HP from them.  Fast forward to November 2013, I called and they offered to upgrade to the Barclays Arrival card (No credit line increase).  I accepted offer.  I logged into account today and bam, a new credit line of $2,700 (Increase of $1,200).  I opened up about 10 cards after I originally got the Barclay's card in March 2013 with no adverse action from them.  I charge each month and PIF each month.  Every now and then, I'll do a balance transfer so they make a little interest off of me and PIF.  It has worked thus far Smiley Wink

(Formerly known as: Credit is my hobby (1.6M)/TCL objective)
___________ 12Njoy
FICO - EX 810; EQ 797; TU 804 I'm climbing back to 800+
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Barclay's

Glad this method has worked out for you OP and congrats on the upgrade.

Message 2 of 11
12njoy
Super Contributor

@FinStar,

Thanks.  You all on this Board have been instrumental in helping me to rebuild.  Keep coming with the great advice!

___________ 12Njoy
Message 3 of 11
coldnmn
Mega Contributor

Congrats! Thanks for sharing.

Discover IT $17k / US Bank Ace (VSig) $13.5K / US Bank Cash+ (VSig) $13.5k