Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Barclays Denial

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Barclays Denial

So I applied for the Barclays NFL card, and unfortunately when I checked my application status, it says the following:

Currently we are unable to offer you a credit card issued by Barclays Bank Delaware. Details on why we could not make you a credit offer will be mailed to you.

Should I try and recon?  If so, what do I say?  I've never done one before, so I'm a bit nervous about it.

Message 1 of 32
31 REPLIES 31
Smug
Established Contributor

Re: Barclays Denial

Always recon.....
Experian® 808/Equifax® ?/TransUnion® 810
Baddies Experian® clean/Equifax® 1/TransUnion® Clean
Last CLI 6-13-2013
Total Credit $121,190.00
Goal 780!
Message 2 of 32
aussiesareforever
Established Contributor

I'm sure others will chime in shortly. I called Barclay to ask for an increased credit limit shortly after my approval. They were really nice and it was a painfree process.

Do you have any negatives on your CR. Be prepared to explain any negatives and give them a good reason for why you want the card. They historically have been pretty good with recons.

BK in January 2008---Barclay's Apple Financing Card ($10,000) --- Capital One Quicksilver ($13,000)--- Platinum Delta Skymiles ($35,000) --- GEMB CareCredit ($10,000) --- AUFCU ($10000)---Discover IT ($33,000)

Experian 835 Transunion 828-- August 2018
Message 3 of 32
Anonymous
Not applicable

No baddies.  I'm relatively new to credit, sitting at 28% util with 2 cards.  I've heard that Barclays was INQ sensitive, but I only have 3 INQs on my TU report, and only one is less than a year old.

Message 4 of 32
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

No baddies.  I'm relatively new to credit, sitting at 28% util with 2 cards.  I've heard that Barclays was INQ sensitive, but I only have 3 INQs on my TU report, and only one is less than a year old.