UtahNewbie

Being asked by Amex for tax return?

my background: I'm 21, arrived at U.S. last year (so I don't have a tax return now), credit history for eight months. I'm a college student now, I started a business of buying products on U.S. website and then selling the products to Chinese buyers two months ago. 

I've had an Amex zync card for four months, I charged about $800 each month for the first two months. The third month,from when I started my little business, I charged about $1500 and paid if off before the due date. And the fourth month, I charged about $5500 for the first 20 days of this billing period and the balance is $4000 now.

Yesterday, I received a call from Amex financial review department, asking me to provide some files about my income or some tax return form of 2011. I told them that I didn't file the tax return last year because I didn't have any income by then( I know it is technically illegal). And Chinese buyers contacted me and paid me through some Chinese website like Ebay ( Taobao.com, if you have heard of it), I can provide them the transaction list on it, but they said it's not verifiable.

And they said they have to (regretfully) close my account next week.

My question:
1. Is it because I suddenly charged too much on my account that triggered a red flag in their system? Or they think $5000 is too much for me?

2.How will this affect me if I apply for some other Amex card in the future? I plan to apply for the Amex 6% blue cash back card at the end of this month. Will I be given a lower credit limit, asked to provide some income document, or simply rejected because I looked like a suspicious customer?

3. What will happen to my points after they close it?

Thank you.

Valued Contributor
CreditScholar

Re: Being asked by Amex for tax return?

UtahNewbie wrote: