Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best card for limited credit

tag
samahok
Contributor

Best card for limited credit

Hi everyone, my girlfriend and I are beginning our credit journeys pretty late in life. I'm 27, she's 24. I'm starting from behind because of a couple of missed student loan payments to Sallie Mae right after I graduated, so I am currently playing catch up and have worked my way back from the mid 5s to 630 fico tu and 599 eq fico. Slowly but surely I am making progress to get to a respectable level.

My girlfriend on the other hand is in a muuuuch better predicament. Right after college she found a job in her field, she's had a perfect payment history, but just has absolutely zero forms of revolving credit. She signed up for the 10 day score watch trial and come to find out she got a 778 eq fico score! My question is , what card is out there for someone who's got a great score like that, but absolutely no revolving credit history? She doesn't know much about credit, and I am trying to help her out from from all of the stuff I have been learning from these message boards. Are there any prime card that she could qualify for with a high score but no history? I don't want to waste to many hps to be denied due to insufficient credit history. Any input would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you very much!
Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Dustink
Valued Contributor

Re: Best card for limited credit

I think she could try for the Chase Freedom.

Too many INQs & low AAoA so I'm off to tend the Garden.     Age:23    

$17k       $8.5K          Closed          $19k      $6.5k        $24.2k        Closed         $5k       Closed     $8.5k        Closed      @2.49%
Message 2 of 15
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita

First off, can you provide a little more regarding your cr profile? You mention lates on st loans; when, how many? Any revolving credit or other installment loans for you? Do you belong to a cu?