Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best second credit card?

tag
gkinter
New Contributor

Best second credit card?

Hello everyone,

I am looking for a good second credit card. I just got approved for a chase sapphire a couple of month ago with a $9000 starting limit. I am still building my credit and looking to keep improving my credit limit and score of course. Any ideas? I was looking for a good cash back card, but I got pre-approved for a couple of other travel cards as well like capital one venture or BOA travel rewards card. I was looking at the AMEX Blue Cash every day card. I am still fairly new to this, and I would love to hear everyone's suggestion for another credit card. Should I go with Citi? Capital One? BOA? AMEX? 

Thanks for the help in advance! Some info about me;

Income : $60,000

Credit cards:

$1300/$9000 Chase Sapphire 

0/$521 Capital One Platinum

Best buy credit card $2300/$3500

Bealls 0/300

MY scores are : 

745 Equifax

742 Transunion

738 Experian. 

Thank you again for the help!!

55 REPLIES 55
austinguy907
Valued Contributor

Re: Best second credit card?

You're on the right track with some prime lenders instead of store cards as tempting as they are for an easy approval.  

Personally I have the BCE from AMEX and Discover in my lineup.  BCE opens the door to exponential growth with the 3X CLI guidelines and should start you off in the $10K neighborhood with your scores and recent approvals.  Discover might start off lower in the $5K range but will grow nicely with time and use.  Both of these options in comparison to your other thoughts grow with SP CLI's instead of a HP like the others.

Cap1 might be a wash considering you already have one listed.

Citi is a mess to deal with sometimes.

BOA is always a HP for a CLI