cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to pay down CC's after unemployment?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Best way to pay down CC's after unemployment?

I'll try to make this explanation short, but any advice is greatly appreciated.

I graduated from law school 2 years ago and make $165K.  My TU credit score is 675, but was ~730 before I ran up some CC debt while unemployed.  1 late payment 4 years ago, but clean credit other than a ridiculously high utilitization rate (see below).

-$140K in school loans (between 3% and 5% currently, though $35K of it could float to around 8% theoretically)

-$16K car loan at 6%

-$1K furniture loan at 0%

-$9K on BOA CC at 29% (cl = 9500) and $8500 on Discover CC at 19% (cl = 9000)

-Rent apartment and no significant assets to my name that might get me a decent secured loan

The BOA CC debt is largely from when I was in school, though I had begun to pay some off.  I originally applied for the Discover CC last July when I was still employed and had about $5K on the BOA card.  I got the 0% introductory rate on the balance transfer which expires next month.  I was unemployed from August till February (with 3 kids) and ran up significant CC debt, but am now back in a great job.  Just wondering if anyone has any advice as to the best way to go about paying these cards off with the least amount of interest.  Currently I would need to pay about $700/month to pay off in 3 years (I can do this comfortably, but it pains me to think how much interest I am going to be paying).  I plan on calling BOA to see about a lower rate, but I am not sure how low they will go for me.  What are the chances anyone would give me another 0% balance transfer introductory rate?

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Best way to pay down CC's after unemployment?

Just called BOA and they say they can only bring it down to 25%.  Seems ridiculously high to me. 

Message 2 of 5
unctarheel08