Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Better Citi TYP offer

tag
selena
Contributor

Better Citi TYP offer

I just opened a Citi TYP about 2 weeks ago with 0% APR for 15 months with a APR of 18.99% and today I recieved another offer for the same card but for the full 18 months with the lowest possible APR of 12.99%. Would that be considered a big difference? The account or the credit pull hasn't posted to either of my credit reports yet and I was wondering if it would even be worth it to try and get the better offer. I know that pre-selected offers are not set in stone and I'm still learning this credit thing so any advice??

As of March 2016:
Equifax 735
TransUnion 702
Experian 731
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Better Citi TYP offer

@selena wrote:

I just opened a Citi TYP about 2 weeks ago with 0% APR for 15 months with a APR of 18.99% and today I recieved another offer for the same card but for the full 18 months with the lowest possible APR of 12.99%. Would that be considered a big difference? The account or the credit pull hasn't posted to either of my credit reports yet and I was wondering if it would even be worth it to try and get the better offer. I know that pre-selected offers are not set in stone and I'm still learning this credit thing so any advice??

Decent difference.

Message 2 of 7
enharu
Super Contributor

Citi will not switch offers. They are very inflexible about that most of the time. You can however ask for an APR adjustment in the future.

The current account that you already have is going to report to the CRAs once the statement cuts, regardless of whether you close the account.