Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BoA - Student Credit Card but not a student anymore

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

BoA - Student Credit Card but not a student anymore

I have a Bank of America's "Credit Card for Students", but the thing is I graduated from college last year and I'm not a student anymore. The credit card doesn't have any rewards so I would like to have a credit card with rewards. Does the credit card get upgraded automatically or should I ask them to upgrade it? Or should I open a new credit card?

Thanks! 

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
genmic
Established Member

Re: BoA - Student Credit Card but not a student anymore

BoA is really good about PC. You should definitely call them. I upgraded from a student card to a Travel Rewards card.

Message 2 of 4
FloridaState12
Established Contributor

@NukesRUs wrote:
I have a Bank of America's "Credit Card for Students", but the thing is I graduated from college last year and I'm not a student anymore. The credit card doesn't have any rewards so I would like to have a credit card with rewards. Does the credit card get upgraded automatically or should I ask them to upgrade it? Or should I open a new credit card?

Thanks! 

I had a similar situation, though I was still enrolled at the time. I had their student CC with no rewards (before they came out with the student cash rewards card they have now) and only a few months into my time with them, I asked to be upgraded to the 123 Cash Rewards card and it was granted, no pulls, nothing. Harmless. I would suggest calling in or doing an online chat and asking them to PC your card to a different one. From what I've heard most people don't have any trouble, but I'd make sure you don't have a super high balance or utilization, because I have heard of accounts getting closed or CLD'd once you draw attention to yourself. But I wouldn't worry about it.