Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building History - New to the USA

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Building History - New to the USA

I am new to the US, and got my first full time job in May 2014. I applied for SSN in April 2014.

My wife is a US citizen, and has been in her job for the past 8 years.

Before I got my SSN, I was on my wife's joint account and added as an authorised user on her credit cards.

End of May 2014, I went to the bank, and I was told that I qualify for a pre-approved Chase Freedom card.

Applied for it, and got the card, with a limit of $4k.

I always pay off my balance in full, usually before the due date, and always use the credit card to make purchases where I can.

Now I read, that I should apply for more credit cards, to build up my history.

If this is correct, is now the right time to apply for another Credit Card, or wait another month or so?

If I should apply for another credit card, which one should it be?

P.S. We are also looking at buying a house next year, so I would like my credit score in a decent range.

My wife's credit score is in the 500's, she is also working on getting her credit score high.

Please suggest.

Thanks

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
longtimelurker
Epic Contributor

Re: Building History - New to the USA

@Anonymous wrote:

I am new to the US, and got my first full time job in May 2014. I applied for SSN in April 2014.

Before I got my SSN, I was on my wife's joint account and added as an authorised user on her credit cards.

End of May 2014, I went to the bank, and I was told that I qualify for a pre-approved Chase Freedom card.

I always pay off my balance in full, usually before the due date, and always use the credit card to make purchases where I can.

If this is correct, is now the right time to apply for another Credit Card, or wait another month or so?

P.S. We are also looking at buying a house next year, so I would like my credit score in a decent range.