cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building towards CSP with no credit history

tag
brodor

Building towards CSP with no credit history

Been lurking around here for the past month and finally posting for the first time today, hoping to get some feedback.

I'm a graduate student (with ~$30K stipend income) studying in the US hoping to establish a solid credit history.  Arriving 18 months ago from Canada, I was surprised that my credit history (6 years of monthly PIFs on two revolvers and a student loan) didn't carry over and that I was unable to obtain a credit card here.  I opened a checking account at Chase shortly after arriving and after a couple of months, I asked about their credit products and they suggested that I apply for the Slate - I applied and was subsequently rejected due to a lack of history.  Not knowing that I should recon (still not sure if it would have helped), I proceeded to apply for the Capital One Newcomer's card last summer.  After several rounds of fax tag over two months where they repeatedly misplaced the documentation/pay stubs I sent them, they still couldn't verify my income and I just gave up.

Fast forward to last month when I came across this forum, I took the advice of applying for a card at my local credit union and received a Visa with a $1K CL.  I proceeded to apply for the Amex Delta Gold, taking care to mention my existing relationship with Amex Canada when I submitted documentation for verification, and was approved with a $1K CL.  I'm happy that I'm now earning rewards on my purchases and have started building my credit history and will grow it by PIF each month but the CSP looks really attractive (I do a bit of travel as a graduate student and the no foreign exchange fee would be handy whenever I visit family and friends in Canada - it's a pain to have to convert funds to pay my Canadian cards).