Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Business CC question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Business CC question

I am curious as to what it takes to qualify for a business cc.  I am not a business owner but I often travel and incur expenses during the regular course of my job.  I figured it would be easier if I could get a separate cc for business purposes only so as to keep my business expenses separate from my personal ones.

Does an applicant have to be a business owner to qualify for a business cc?
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Business CC question

The card for you may be the Citi Professional or some such hybrid card that you can use for business expenses but still reports to personal.  In order to legitimately get a biz card, you must have a registered business and it is more helpful to have a FEIN and an DNB number.  As a independant contractor I am a sole prop and DBA entity for tax purposes.
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks, Brammy!  Smiley Happy

Btw, I love the "legitimately" qualifier in your response because this credit novice aspires to be strictly above-board and completely legit!
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

lurknomore wrote:
Thanks, Brammy!  Smiley Happy

Btw, I love the "legitimately" qualifier in your response because this credit novice aspires to be strictly above-board and completely legit!

Only threw that in there because I am well aware of some 'not so legitimate' applications and approvals for biz credit.  Usually used to hide personal spending.

Message 4 of 7
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

Did I see (prob on the Citi Professional Card site) that business cards don't carry the same consumer protections as personal cards? "Consumer protections" being a relative term, of course...
* Credit is a wonderful servant, but a terrible master. * Who's the boss --you or your credit?