Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

COLLEGE STUDENT CC QUESTION

tag
blondie_keen
New Contributor

COLLEGE STUDENT CC QUESTION

I apologize if this is a dumb question but I kinda need to know so if you could humor me that would be super! haha

I'm a college student but I only have a year left and have been told that the easiest card to get would be ones specifically for college students. My question is, what happens to the card when I graduate? Does it stay a "college card" for as long as I keep it open? I've been told that it's easier to obtain one of these cards and I should look into getting a second CC but what are your thoughts??

Also, once I graduate, can that CC be transferred to a non-college type of card within the company??

Thanks guys!!

ps. should i just wait a bit longer to get my FICO scores higher and go with a regular CC?

right now myFICO equifax is 592 but i expect it to go up within a few days...

MAY 2009 FICO SCORES

EQ 639
TU 647
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
andyaycw
Frequent Contributor

Re: COLLEGE STUDENT CC QUESTION

Generally speaking, the only difference between the regular consumer version of a particular credit card and the student version will be the credit limit, APR, and perhaps some other terms. Also, depending on which company you get the credit card from will determine whether or not they will let you "upgrade" or do a product change on your student card.

For instance, my roommate for this year had a BofA Student Visa which gave him no rewards whatsoever. After about a year, he tried calling BofA to have it converted to a Rewards card. He was denied numerous times and told that if he wanted a non-student regular consumer version rewards card, he would have to submit a new application.