Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I apply for Chase Freedom now?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Can I apply for Chase Freedom now?

Hello fellow credit card enthusiasts!

First of all, thank you so much to everyone who contributes to these forums. This has always been my go-to place for any information regarding credit.

That said, some background - my first credit card was a Discover (1750 limit) that I applied for 10 months ago - so my credit history is still very new. Since then, I have been approved for American Express (10k initial credit limit, recently increased to 25k). And then I took the CapitalOne Quicksilver card (3k initial limit, just upped to 5k). Now, just two days ago, I got approved for my fourth credit card - a Chase Sapphire Preferred with a credit limit of 15k.

I was a student until a month ago; just started my first job. I haven't had a lot of money, and therefore haven't put a lot of spend on any of these cards (average $300-$500 per month combined). Creditkarma displays my scores at 737. I have 7 credit inquiries in my short 1 year credit history.

Given all of this, how likely am I to be approved for a Chase Freedom if I applied soon? The reason I want to apply for Freedom is to produce Ultimate Reward Points faster and to use them in conjunction with my Sapphire Preferred.

Any tips appreciated! Thank you so much Smiley Happy

10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Can I apply for Chase Freedom now?

Congrats on your success with your credit applications.

From what I understand as long as your with in the 5/24 rule you should be fine, but it may be best to wait 3 months before applying for anymore credit since your profile is so thin and as you said you dont really have that much money to spend yet anyway.

If I was you I would wait 90 days from last app then get the freedom then hang out with those for a year before applying for anything else.

Welcome to the forum.

Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable