Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canceling Buider Cards

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Canceling Buider Cards

With the information I was able to get from the people here I have raised my scores over 140 points in a year. My AAofA is low 9 months. With my new scores I was able to get a car and some more premium cards. Should I close my rebuilding accounts?

Credit one 450 cL with annual fee
Indigo 300 cL with annual fee
Quicksilver 750 upgrade from Platinum(maybe keep this as they seem like a solid company)

New cards all opened this month
Chase Saphire Prefered 8000 cL no annual first year
Discover 5000
DCU 3000 low Apr and same pull as auto loan
TD cash (150 back when I spend 500) probably get bonus and sock drawer

Have not activated these cards yet as I have just received them. I also didn’t want to activate all of it would aggrevate Chase status. Any help with strategy would be greatly appreciated as I am still learning. I plan on letting the best combination age for a while after this. My income is stable and Plan on keeping utilization very low each month.

Thank you
Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Canceling Buider Cards

• See if any card is your OLDEST account by a long short -- oldest open account is factored into FICO scoring
  • Cancel any cards with an annual/monthly fee that doesn't offer enough rewards to pay for it annually
  • If you want, try to call the lender and see if they will waive the annual/monthly fee -- if so, keep it until the next time one is due
  • Some cards may be able to be "combined" into another card with that lender (combining limits) -- check into that as well before closing

I personally would keep any cards without an annual fee -- just give it some usage every 4-6 months.

The only reason I would close a card without an annual fee is if it's a hassle to monitor it for usage.  I use Mint to track card usage and due dates.

Message 2 of 15
DawgZ
Contributor