cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cancelling a card (re: credit score)...

tag
smallfry
Senior Contributor

Re: Cancelling a card (re: credit score)...

@Anonymous wrote:
Hello, to start off, I'm 25 years old, and my credit score is around 740/750.
Right now I have 5 credit cards, 4 of which I would like to keep (major cards, great rates, benefits etc).
The only card I want to cancel, is the card I have had the longest (2 years at most). It was my first credit card, and I was a college student, and I got it from 1 Financial Bank USA. This card really doesn't benefit me in the least. Has relatively high APR's compared to my other cards, and doesn't really offer any benefits for the future. Now that my credit is somewhat established, I'd like to cancel it, but from what I've read this can hurt me more than anything.
Out of the cards I have, I have generally low limits. So all of the cards total is about 10k (if that). Out of that, right now, I only have 2.5k on a one major card with a 6k limit with zero APR. This will be paid off by January of 2008. The 1st Financial Card has a 2.5k limit.
So all in all, would closing this one hurt me that bad? I'm sure it will take a hit to my credit score, but I would rather keep open only the ones I want open, and focus on those, and becoming reputable with major companies that can benefit me in the future. Even if it does hurt me a little now, would it be back to normal in a year or so with keeping a low balance (20% or less on my total credit limit), no late payments, no more credit cards and so on?
I hope this makes sense, and I appreciate and welcome any help and advice I can get.
Thank you in advance.
-Matt

Edited - Also, I had an American Express with an annual fee, and I recently upgraded to a better card with no annual fee, lower APR, etcetc. I closed the previous AE account, but it still shows me as a member from my original date, will this alter my score at all as well?