Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cap One restricted card; can it be reopened

tag
grillandwinemaster
Valued Contributor

Re: Cap One restricted card; can it be reopened

@Anonymous wrote:

I'm in the process of clearing up some late payments and baddies on my CR. I have a capital one platinum MC with a 500 CL opened in Oct 2014 back in June 2015 I went over my CL and had a balance of 1,000 on the credit card. I made small payments toward paying it down but did miss payments one 120 days missed payment in 2015 and one 60 day and 120 day in 2016. Sometime in early 2016 they restricted the card.(I lost the card so I was not worried about paying them as quickly as I should) I would pay whenever I could and did not communicate with Cap One about my situation or make payment arrangements. 

I have been making on time payments for the last 5 months 100.00 or more and about a week ago I just paid off the entire balance (754.00). My questions is since the account is restricted and I no longer have the card. Will i need to reapply for a Cap One card or is it possible that they can reopen my old account and reissue me a new card? I know that I don't want to close the account but since I no longer have the card and it is now paid in full it will remain a dorminate account with a 0 balance. 

All response are appreciated thank you! 

If you were a Capital1 underwriter, what would you do? I know what I would do if I were a Capital One underwriter...

Current Scores 3/2016 Equifax 676 Transunion 697 Experian 648 Goal Scores: 720's accross the board. Gardening Goal: 3/2017
Message 11 of 22
Melisaw24

I am in the same situations. Talked to a capital one customer service agent and I was informed that I must wait 90 days after making a full payment for the restrictions to be lifted

Starting Score: 589EQ 567EX 601TU
4/2017
Current Score:
666EQ 624EX 684TU
Goal Score: 700

Message 12 of 22
happypill
Valued Contributor