cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Capital One Secured Card - How to Unsecure?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Capital One Secured Card - How to Unsecure?

So I have a Capital One Secured Master Card that I opened 2 years ago when I started rebuilding my credit. Started at $200 limit, limit increased to $500 shortly after. It has always been paid on time and in full. Every time I call customer service regarding unsecuring this card and transitioning it to an unsecured product they always comment on the account histroy being great, but I cant get this thing transitioned to an unsecured product. They offer to let me apply for another card and close this card out, but I dont want to do that as I need to work on my age of accounts and would like to keep this account going, but just in a way that its more useful than a $500 limit card which is my lowest card limit by far. I've spoken to numerous people. I'm told this account will never unsecure. I'm told it is unsecured at random. I'm told it can be requested through a credit limit increase. I'm told its not eligible for being unsecured at this time. All of these explainations from Capital One customer service contradict one another and provide no solid path. I see all over here people with this card having it unsecured after less than a year, and here I am 2 years deep paid on time and in full always and trapped secured. Any advice on how to go about this?

Message 1 of 29
28 REPLIES 28
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Capital One Secured Card - How to Unsecure?

Mine is stuck unsecured at almost 2 years too. I see the very few posts about unsecuring and I'm starting to doubt it can happen. I have tried no spend. Lots of spend. No reporting balance. Reporting balance. Nothing works.  Stuck at 500 too. 

Message 2 of 29
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote: